World Languages at Gates Chili

  • Gates Chili Central School District proudly offers French, Italian, Latin and Spanish to all students. The program prepares students to be successful in an increasingly interconnected world by becoming proficient in a second language and developing an understanding and appreciation of other cultures. Research shows that students who study a second language experience higher achievement in other academic areas, as well as on college entry exams such as the SAT and ACT. Students will acquire skills and knowledge that will hopefully instill a love of languages, as well as open many doors of opportunity for them in the future.

    Many Gates Chili graduates have benefited from Gates Chili's strong language program. Students have the opportunity to earn college credit for Latin through Syracuse University, or for French, Italian and Spanish through Monroe Community College. High school world language students also have the opportunity to travel abroad to France, Italy and Spain.

     

  •  

    7-8 program

     

  •  

    9-12 program

     

world languages Staff

Teacher Full Name Title Building(s) Email Address
Brett Blackburn French Teacher HS Brett_Blackburn@gateschili.org
Jeanne Cimino-Quagliata Latin Teacher MS Jeanne_Cimino-Quagliata@gateschili.org
Mary Ellen Donovan Italian Teacher HS MaryEllen_Donovan@gateschili.org
Maddalena Falletti Spanish Teacher MS Maddalena_Falletti@gateschili.org
Jennifer Gelfuso Italian Teacher MS Jennifer_Gelfuso@gateschili.org
Julie Gangai Teacher Leader for HS World Languages; Spanish Teacher HS Julie_Gangai@gateschili.org
Marianne May Spanish Teacher HS Marianne_May@gateschili.org
Gina Patrei French Teacher MS Gina_Patrei@gateschili.org
Lisa Sanchez Teacher Leader for MS World Languages; Spanish Teacher MS Lisa_Sanchez@gateschili.org
Olga Soussana-Bann Spanish Teacher HS Olga_Soussana-Bann@gateschili.org